The Sainte-Foy chapel located right beside the Place de la Comédie is now owned by the Brotherhood of White Penitents.
Inside is a magnificent painted ceiling and gold-coloured wooden decoration, which led it to be named the “Sistine of Languedoc”.
Sainte-Foy was in all likelihood built in the 12th century along the Camin Roumieu, Saint James' Way for pilgrims. The chapel was destroyed in about 1561 during the Catholic-Protestant war. The land was used as an open-air cemetery. Then in 1623 it was given to the White Penitents, who rebuilt it.
In the heart of the Ecusson, in a neighbourhood made of café and restaurant terraces, discover the majestic église Saint Roch.The church is named after the patron saint of Montpellier, his native city.Roch, the patron...
A mosaic of atmospheres
Montpellier, festive, mediterranean and creative city...