©CH. Ruiz Montpellier Méditerranée Métropole


10 km south of Montpellier lies Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone, a little coastal little town with a rich and exceptional natural heritage and preserved, wild nature. The Saint Pierre of Maguelone Cathedral is a place at the same time historical and magical. To discover.

Between vineyards and beach

Located south-west of Montpellier, Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone has a 9-kilometre long beach that is preserved and untouched by construction. It is accessed by a footbridge over the Rhône-Sète canal.

In a green setting in the centre of the Presqu’île, the cathedral of Saint-Pierre de Maguelone is a unique place where history and tradition meet. This fortress church, a former Romanesque bishopric, was home to popes and bishops in the Middle Ages.

Surrounded by vines cultivated by the Compagnons de Maguelone (ESAT), the cathedral is a meeting place where time seems to stand still. In the past, 70% of the vineyards in Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone were dedicated to Chasselas, which made it the “capital of table grapes”. Today, the commune has several renowned winegrowing operations, which offer a range of wines and muscats.

Throughout the seasons, the site hosts exhibitions, seminars and cultural events such as the festival of ancient music in June or the Voix de Maguelone in September…

In Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone, nature is king. There is a mosaic of natural environments between fresh and salt water where many remarkable species, in particular birds, come to breed or feed: Pink Flamingo, Little Egret, Shelduck, Elegant Avocet, White Stilt, Tern…

The old Villeneuve salt pans are today a showcase for biodiversity and the past exploitation of the lagoon environments of Languedoc. Various protection and enhancement programmes are carried out there.

We love

The wild and unspoilt beach

The bonus

The little tourist train that runs every day in summer

Don't miss

The cathédrale Saint-Pierre de Maguelone

Stroll through the village and anecdotes

Until the 19th century, the village was fortified and surrounded by a wall. The Porte Saint-Laurent (gate) on the side of the town hall is a vestige of this wall which escaped the destruction of 1840: it was at this time that the first town hall and the school were built.

Opposite the new town hall, dating from 1904, is the “grand chemin” where many winegrowers’ houses can be seen – one house has a statue of Arnaud de Villeneuve (a 14th century scientist) with his hands cut off, who, according to legend, once carried a book and a still. Some say that it was the Germans who took the hands away as a souvenir during the Second World War…

Getaway to... Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone (in French)
Getaway to... Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone (in French)
Escapade à... Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone

Access to the Cathedral and the beaches