The suffix ‘Argues’ is found in the name of many villages of the eastern Languedoc. It is associated with the name of a person (in latin or gallic) who is the owner of a ‘villa’ – a vast area in the time of ancient Rome – thus taking the meaning of ‘domain of…’.
The name of the village of Sussargues evolved over time, from Sorcianico in 1004 to Sussargues in 1622: the variations are numerous.
We have to wait until 1194 to see the name of the village appearing in a charter attaching it to the Lordship of Castries, where it stayed until the Revolution.
Sussargues is set in a beautiful environment, with vineyards, hilly scrubland, grassland and rivers making up the landscape.
Along the numerous trails you can discover: the capitelles, dry stone shelters built in the eighteenth century to store tools or to provide shelter in bad weather, and an open-air theatre situated in a former quarry that was in use as such until 1953: shows and events take place in it each year.